Closing Times of the Polls on Election Night, State by State

SwingStateProject has compiled the closing times of the polls on election night. First done will be Indiana:

Time State Republican-Held Democratic-Held
6:00 PM
7:00 PM
Indiana (E.)
Indiana (W.)
IN-03, IN-04, IN-Gov IN-09, IN-House
6:00 PM
7:00 PM
Kentucky (E.)
Kentucky (W.)
KY-02*, KY-Sen KY-03
7:00 PM
8:00 PM
Florida (E.)
Florida (W.)
FL-08, FL-13, FL-18,
FL-21, FL-24, FL-25
7:00 PM Georgia GA-Sen GA-08, GA-13
7:00 PM
8:00 PM
N.H. (Townships)
N.H. (Cities)
NH-Sen NH-01
7:00 PM South Carolina SC-01, SC-02, SC-Sen  
7:00 PM Vermont VT-Gov  
7:00 PM Virginia VA-02, VA-05, VA-10,
VA-11*, VA-Sen*
7:30 PM
8:30 PM
N.C. (Standard)
N.C. (Optional)
NC-05, NC-08, NC-10, NC-Sen NC-Gov*
7:30 PM Ohio OH-01, OH-02, OH-03, OH-07*,
OH-15*, OH-16*, OH-House
7:30 PM West Virginia WV-02  
8:00 PM Alabama AL-02*, AL-03 AL-05*
8:00 PM Connecticut CT-04 CT-05
8:00 PM Delaware DE-House  
8:00 PM Illinois IL-06, IL-10, IL-11*,
IL-13, IL-18*
8:00 PM
9:00 PM
Kansas (E.)
Kansas (W.)
KS-04 KS-02, KS-03
8:00 PM Maine ME-Sen ME-StateSen
8:00 PM Maryland MD-01*, MD-06  
8:00 PM Massachusetts    
8:00 PM
9:00 PM
Michigan (E.)
Michigan (W.)
MI-07, MI-09 MI-House
8:00 PM Mississippi MS-Sen MS-01
8:00 PM Missouri MO-06, MO-09*, MO-Gov*  
8:00 PM New Jersey NJ-03*, NJ-04, NJ-05, NJ-07* NJ-Sen
8:00 PM
9:00 PM
N.D. (Most of E.)
N.D. (W. + some E.)
8:00 PM Oklahoma OK-01, OK-Sen OK-StateSen
8:00 PM Pennsylvania PA-03, PA-05*, PA-06,
PA-15, PA-18, PA-StateSen
PA-04, PA-08, PA-10,
PA-11, PA-12, PA-House
8:00 PM
9:00 PM
South Dakota (E.)
South Dakota (W.)
8:00 PM Tennessee TN-StateSen TN-House
8:00 PM
9:00 PM
Texas (E.)
Texas (W.)
TX-07, TX-10,
TX-House, TX-Sen
TX-22, TX-23
8:30 PM Arkansas    
9:00 PM Arizona AZ-01*, AZ-03,
AZ-House, AZ-StateSen
AZ-05, AZ-08
9:00 PM Colorado CO-04, CO-06*, CO-Sen*  
9:00 PM Louisiana LA-01, LA-04*, LA-07 LA-06, LA-Sen
9:00 PM Minnesota MN-02, MN-03*,
MN-06, MN-Sen
9:00 PM Nebraska NE-02, NE-Sen*  
9:00 PM New Mexico NM-01*, NM-02*, NM-Sen*  
9:00 PM New York NY-13*, NY-25*, NY-26*,
NY-29, NY-StateSen
9:00 PM Rhode Island    
9:00 PM Wisconsin WI-Assembly WI-08, WI-StateSen
9:00 PM Wyoming WY-AL*  
10:00 PM
11:00 PM
Idaho (S.)
Idaho (N.)
10:00 PM Iowa IA-04, IA-05 IA-House
10:00 PM Montana MT-House MT-StateSen
10:00 PM Nevada NV-02, NV-03, NV-StateSen  
10:00 PM Utah    
11:00 PM California CA-04*, CA-26, CA-45,
CA-46, CA-50
11:00 PM Hawaii    
10:00 PM
11:00 PM
Oregon (E.)
Oregon (W.)
OR-Sen OR-05*, OR-House
11:00 PM Washington WA-08 WA-Gov
12:00 AM
1:00 AM
Alaska (E.)
Alaska (W.)
AK-AL, AK-House,
AK-Sen, AK-StateSen


SwingStateProject is a great site, and worth checking out.

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Closing Times of the Polls on Election Night, State by State

  1. Nancy Beale says:

    You have Washington State’s poll closing time wrong. Why?
    The polls close at 8 PM in all counties.

  2. santitafarella says:


    i believe that the chart represents east coast time (thus three hours ahead).

    that means that, if you live on the west coast, indiana’s polls will have closed at 4pm pacific time (7pm eastern standard time).

    the chart is for watching election results come in, and the person at SwingStateProject appears to be writing from his or her own time zone (east coast).

    i live in california, and i know that the polls in california close at 8 pacific time (11 est).

    sorry for the confusion.


  3. Anonymous says:

    Lol, what a dumbass.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s