Rush Limbaugh’s Latest Sex and Race Obsessed Resentment Screed Toward Sonia Sotomayor

A one man American white male ignorance and resentment pride parade:

And what the hell was that chest pounding gesture at the end about? True-heart conservatism has the courage to mouth hatred towards liberal women and Hispanics? He’s proud of that, apparently—for having the courage to do it publicly.

Rush Limbaugh: the daring white male rhetorician of the radio airwaves strikes again!

Mega-dittos?

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rush Limbaugh’s Latest Sex and Race Obsessed Resentment Screed Toward Sonia Sotomayor

  1. Ashley says:

    I didn’t hear any hatred.

  2. santitafarella says:

    Ashley,

    Did you at least hear resentment?

    —Santi

  3. akarmenia1 says:

    Yes…and if you think that Rush is the only one with resentment, you are in for a rude awakening. There are many out there that resent the preference of minorities and the vilification of white people. That doesn’t make us hate mongers or racists, it makes us people who believe in true equality.

  4. santitafarella says:

    Akarmenia1:

    I’m a white person (an “Italian American”). I don’t feel villified in this culture. I’ve lived virtually all of my life in the most racially diverse county in the United States (Los Angeles). It has lots and lots of Hispanics, blacks, and Asians. Whites make up far less than 50% of the county. My neighbors across the street are Asian. My neighbors to either side of me are Hispanic. And nobody has ever called me a “honky” or treated me evil because of my skin color.

    I just don’t know what the hell you’re talking about. What, exactly, am I missing here? I look at the presidency and I see a string of white males (excepting Obama). I look at the Supreme Court, and I see another string of white males up through 1968 (when a black man finally was appointed to the court). And I see no women on the Supreme Court until the 1980s. And I notice that there are only two there now. Over the past eight years Bush added a couple of white dudes to the court, so now if Obama didn’t replace a woman with a woman, we’d have just one woman on a court of nine. Is it that Sotomayor is a woman that bothers you, or that she’s Hispanic? You think she is unqualified? Just what is it, exactly, about Sotomayor that screws you up?

    Resentment, in my view, is a form of low-boiling hatred. If you resent somebody, you ultimately want to upend them and shame them in revenge, or take pleasure in their misfortune. Iago in Othello resented Othello, and at least had the honesty to confess that he frankly “hated the Moor.”

    What could you possibly resent here? There hasn’t been a single Hispanic on the Supreme Court. And her record shows no signs of racial favoritism. So please help me out.

    —Santi

Leave a Reply

