Blogging UFOs: What’s the Evangelical Christian Take on Extraterrestrial Visitations?

In the early 1990s, an Evangelical filmmaker produced a pretty good documentary on UFOs. Below is part 1 of 8 from YouTube. As a teenager, I actually saw the first person interviewed (Dave Hunt) at my church a couple of times. Hunt was an occult and cult researcher, and made the church rounds in the United States sharing his views and selling his books. I assume that he has either passed away or is very old and no longer writing books. He had a creepy public speaking delivery and intense, mesmerizing eyes. As he told his paranormal and cult anecdotes to a church audience, he would raise his eyebrows spookily and use lots of pregnant pauses that would scare the living crap out of you. He could really cast a spell. (Ironic, isn’t it?) I also met Dave Hunt at his house in Northridge, Ca., and discussed intellectuality and the occult with him a bit. He gave me a copy of one of his books. I promised to return it to him, but never actually did (thoughtless me). My religious views have evolved since my teens, and I’m an agnostic about a lot of things (including God and UFOs). Still, I think this UFO documentary is well done and informative, and the thesis (that aliens are disembodied mental or spiritual, not organic, beings) is one that Jacques Vallee, the famed secular UFO researcher, has flirted with as well.

__________

NOTE: I see that Dave Hunt has a Wikipedia bio page here. He’s still alive. He’s 83 years old. I suppose I should finally get around to returning his book to him.

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Blogging UFOs: What’s the Evangelical Christian Take on Extraterrestrial Visitations?

  1. Veronica Abbass says:

    Why do you and countless others use the expression passed away or passed for died?
    Dave Hunt has neither “passed away” or died, but he “is very old.” See http://www.thebereancall.org/node/4979

    His latest book (2006) is _Yoga and the Body of Christ See http://www.thebereancall.org/node/5244_

  2. santitafarella says:

    Veronica:

    Before I noticed your comment, I checked to see if he had a Wikipedia page. He does (as I noted above). As for “passed away,” it’s Orwellian softening, I agree. Emily Dickinson’s great death poem would not work with “passed away” would it?: “Because I could not stop for passing away, passing away kindly stopped for me . . .” It doesn’t quite do it.

    Thanks for the links.

    —Santi

  3. Aaron says:

    I have heard some interesting attempts to claim that UFOs are demons that live just above the atomosphere who swoop down every once in a while just to distract us from the ways of God… ugh! Some people will believe anything!!😉

  4. santitafarella says:

    Aaron,

    What I think demon atmosphere theorists are describing is satellite television! I feel that way each month I write out my satellite bill. : )

    —Santi

  5. Jared K says:

    Santi,

    For what it is worth, I’ve come across Hunt before and there are a good number of evangelicals (myself included) who really take issue with his approach.

    I’m familiar more with his writings and advocacy of the dispensational (“left behind”) eschatology. He is well-known as an apologist for that view and is frequently criticized (rightly so in my opinion) for mischaracterizing other interpretations of scripture including preterism, post-millennialism, and a-millennialism. Plenty of evangelicals think that he is sensational, radical, grumpy, and even a bit dishonest.

    That said, as an evangelical I am open to the possibility that some of the UFO experiences may have some spiritual dimension and, at the risk of sounding silly to skeptics, I do believe in malevolent forces that might play some role I guess.

  6. santitafarella says:

    Jared:

    Dave Hunt is definitely Old School. The Junior Soprano of Evangelicalism. The Godfather.

    As for UFOs, one thing I find fascinating is the possibilites they open for thinking of mind in the universe apart from bodies. If UFOs are manifestations of mind only erratically attached to physical bodies in some weird sense, it might be a funky argument for God’s existence.

    Think about it. Rather than just saying that God is a disembodied mind, you could point to UFO phenomena as showing similar disembodied mind properties.

    —Santi

  7. Speak Up says:

    The power of suggestion is very powerful and people can speak in very persuasive ways to ensure people believe anything.

  8. Rob Adams says:

    Dave Hunt just died, several days ago.

Leave a Reply

