FOUND POEM

Somebody on Crenshaw

Hit on a bicycle

And they are dead.

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FOUND POEM

  1. Alan says:

    This was

    After all

    Crenshaw

  2. There is nothing important about AVC
    The fact that you work there
    Means nothing to me
    You say that you teach
    But by your words here we see
    That you can’t tell a poem
    From a dead tree.
    I lived in LA
    For 13 years
    A whole lot of laughs
    But many more tears
    Crenshaw is bad
    But not the worst road by far
    Try the 405 on foot,
    and not in a car.
    To say this is a poem
    to me it astounds
    Sounds not like a teacher,
    But more like a clown.

    • Santi Tafarella says:

      Bill,

      I’m not sure what to say in response. It felt like a haiku to me. Maybe you feel that a poem should rhyme, but when I think of a poem, I think of things like surprise following a line break, and charged language.

      • Sorry, the wife and I were attending Law school at Southwestern for the Rodney King riots and the OJ slow speed chase. We actually watched the slow speed chase in our Sports Law Class (how fitting) and had classes cancelled for 3 days during the riot. It just hit me hard. No, you are absolutely correct, and I was wrong. A poem is a poem because of, and due to its own artistic nature. It does not have to beat to any particular time. It is what is felt in the heart and mind, and not to any reason or rhyme. My judgment was flawed, as I am only human. Keep opening minds, keep doing what you’re doing.

    • Alan says:

      I was thinking more Crenshaw District, close to my home town of South Central L. A. While my recollections are a bit dated (and the area has cleaned up a lot in 20 years) the growth of the gang-dominated crack cocaine trade in the 1980s made Crenshaw district one of the most violent neighborhoods in Los Angeles, with the stretch of Crenshaw Boulevard between Slauson Avenue and Adams Boulevard remaining a virtual free-fire zone for years. In 1992, the Rodney King Riots tore that area up pretty bad.

      • Anonymous says:

        We were there,
        For the Rodney King scene,
        and felt so bad
        that we could not do a thing.
        So many good people
        just had to riot,
        for the causes they felt
        Understand the frustration,
        because we are of those,
        who feel that all creatures
        have the right to choose.
        No sentient being should be

Leave a Reply

