Flying Into The Sun

What would it be like to be a dog? I think of Blake’s binding and loosing of energies here. Wouldn’t it be great if life could always be this energetic, free, joyous, and simple? At the leap, notice the sun–and call this dog Icarus.

I like these lines from a Jack Gilbert poem:

I believe Icarus was not failing as he fell,
but just coming to the end of his triumph.

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Flying Into The Sun

  1. I once saw a painting called ‘the flight of Icarus’ and I have wanted a copy for myself for a long time. In this version Daedalus was horrified as Icarus fell yet Icarus’ face was full of triumph. Below them the world was unfolding as it should.

    This triumph and tragedy did not impact the world, was above the normal life, the actors in the play both lost yet Icarus was joyously triumphant. There is no triumph but experience. Despite our ties, we experience life alone.

    I like that painting.

Leave a Reply

