Donald Trump and Emily Dickinson: An Apt Quote and Poem for the Run-Up to Tuesday’s Election

This quote captures for me a lot of the pre-election feel of this weekend: “Asked earlier Friday aboard Air Force One en route to North Carolina what the president makes of a country that has not more clearly rejected Trump, White House press secretary Josh Earnest said Trump’s rhetoric has been disturbing, but said he’d wait to see Tuesday’s results before speaking to why or how much that rhetoric has resonated.”

In other words, it’s quiet now, the winds aren’t discernible, and we’re all bracing for the news: did the weather threatening just offshore actually reach land–or drift safely out to sea?

It recalls for me an Emily Dickinson poem. I suppose it’s the poem for this election.

I started Early – Took my Dog –
And visited the Sea –
The Mermaids in the Basement
Came out to look at me –

And Frigates – in the Upper Floor
Extended Hempen Hands –
Presuming Me to be a Mouse –
Aground – opon the Sands –

But no Man moved Me – till the Tide
Went past my simple Shoe –
And past my Apron – and my Belt
And past my Boddice – too –

And made as He would eat me up –
As wholly as a Dew
Opon a Dandelion’s Sleeve –
And then – I started – too –

And He – He followed – close behind –
I felt His Silver Heel
Opon my Ancle – Then My Shoes
Would overflow with Pearl –

Until We met the Solid Town –
No One He seemed to know –
And bowing – with a Mighty look –
At me – The Sea withdrew –

_____

Trump’s running a racist campaign that black voters especially need to reject, Obama said.
POLITI.CO

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in atheism, Bernie Sanders, donald trump, feminism, hillary clinton, poetry, Politics, Ted Cruz, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

