The Apotheosis of Abraham Lincoln into the Arms of George Washington, Accompanied by Angels and Light Breaking Through Clouds

I love this. It was drawn by an anonymous artist in the 1860s and is now housed as part of the collection at the George Eastman House:

File:TheApotheosisLincolnAndWashington1860s.jpg

About Santi Tafarella

I teach writing and literature at Antelope Valley College in California.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Apotheosis of Abraham Lincoln into the Arms of George Washington, Accompanied by Angels and Light Breaking Through Clouds

  1. I really like the those two hugging each others, although my favorite of the two is Mr Abraham Lincoln. I am originally from El Salvador, but I love America. In my years of high school, I did a report on these two presidents and I came to to love both of them. However I was more affected strongly by Mr Abraham Lincoln legacy.
    I check most of your site, is very good.

  2. Pingback: Abraham Lincoln, Ape-Man | Slate Star Codex

  3. Donald Read says:

    I have a small picture ofWashington ^^ Lincoln. It is about 2 1/2 x 4 inches and does not show the complete picture. At the bottom is: Entered, according to Act of Congress in the year 1867, by J. A. Arthur in the Clerk’s Office of the Eastern District of Pennsylvania. Washington & Lincoln (Apothesis) S. J. Ferris, P???xt. Photo. and Pub. by Phil. Pho. Co. 730 Chesnut Sr.

  4. TREASA HALL says:

    I HAVE THE SAME PICTURE YOU HAVE HERE. MY GRANDMOTHER WAS BORN IN 1890 AND THIS WAS IN HER MOTHERS ALBUM. IT IS EXACTLY THE SAME. PLEASE CALL ME AT 5857326571…I AM VERY INTERESTED IN SPEAKING WITH YOU. THANK YOU. I DO NOT DO EMAIL….BUT I MUST LEAVE AN EMAIL ADDRESS TO GET THIS TO YOU. THANK YOU.

Leave a comment