Daily Archives: December 5, 2010

California is Spain: A Debt Crisis Looms for the Golden State

This is front page news in the New York Times today, and, as a California resident, it’s alarming: [M]any state and local governments have so much debt — several trillion dollars’ worth, with much of it off the books and largely … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Adam Sandler’s “Happy Hanukkah” Song

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Handel’s Messiah in the Mall: Totalitarian Creepiness or Just a Song for the Holiday Season?

Even though I’m an agnostic, I love Christmas music and Christmas movies. I must, for example, have upward of 300 Christmas songs on my iPod. And every year my family and I watch Alastair Sim as Scrooge in A Christmas Carol and … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , | 13 Comments

Gnu Atheism, Movement Conservatism, and Civility

At Commentary’s website this week, Peter Wehner appeals to his fellow conservatives to find, in themselves, a greater habit of civility, and resist the temptation to always confront one’s opposition in a spirit of relentless ridicule, dismissiveness, and ad hominem. What struck me in … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments